top of page

Oh Dad

My father was ghosting people for years.

“What’s ghosting?” - Dad

“Basically no one knows who you are because there is no picture for people to be able to tell.” - Me

I have begged and I have pleaded for him to put up a profile picture for 8 years. I can not believe it took me this long but, I finally took his phone and added a profile picture of my mom’s favorite picture of the two of them. Then all my dad’s ex-girlfriends started to comment on the picture of him…it was priceless. They were all talking about how hot my mom is or as she likes to say HOT HOT HOT.

This happening showed him that he could connect with old friends. I began to teach him the tricks of Facebook. I taught him how to post pictures and how to react to other people’s post, but the best part were all the friend requests. Most of the people who had added him were dead or he just didn’t know who these people were.

Basically, people were cat-fishing my dad who was ghosting everyone else.

After that we went through all the messages he received. These poor people waiting on a respond for YEARS and it never came. They had invited him to parties and were just curious on how he was doing. I helped my dad respond to each person to the best of my ability with “LOL”s and detailed descriptions.

“The Wide World Web is too much. I’m taking a break.” - Dad

So he got up and moved to the living room. He sat in the living room in ahh. I guess my lesson was over.

*fast forward a couple of days*

I called my dad yesterday to tell him I got to the second round of an internship program I applied too. He was excited for me, but then he began to tell me how popular he was on Facebook and how everyone wanted to be his friend. He was more proud of himself and his newfound popularity.

Welcome to the 21st century, Dad. Hey, maybe you might start reading my blog!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page