top of page

I'm Back(packing)

I can’t believe it has been over two months since my return from my backpacking trip in Europe and I haven’t blogged about it.

I went to…

The Greek Islands, Greece

Athens, Greece

Rome, Italy

Florence, Italy

Venice, Italy

Innsbruck/Tyrol Region, Austria

Munich, Germany

Prague, Czech Republic

Berlin, Germany

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Bruges, Belgium

Paris, France

Montipeller, France

Barcelona, Spain

It was an unbelievable experience and I learned so much. I went to museums and met so many unique people.

Now that you have the generic answer I have given to everyone, let’s get into the details. Each country offered new experiences and exciting opportunities. I know most people my age go to Europe to get drunk and hook up with hot European men but in all honesty, I spent most of my time learning and experiencing and walking around. I had so many amazing meals and managed to only get stank face from very few locals.

In Greece, I got my second worst sunburn ever and I still am dealing with it today (3 months later…). But the main thing that happened in Greece was that I got honey for my family. Just remember this…

In Italy, I had a sandwich in Florence that I still dream about today… right now as I type this my mouth is watering. The greatest thing about my experience in Italy was being able to see my third world wonder— Colosseum!!! AHHHHHH!!! WOOOOHOOOO! Plus, I bought the most beautiful handbags that I cherish. Just remember this…

On our way to Austria, I had purchased a second suitcase in Venice for my handbags and other things I had bought along the way. We finally made it to Austria after a long day of traveling and I got my bag from under the bus. It was sticky. Why would this be? Then later that night, I opened my bag to find out that the honey exploded over everything. I cried. Then I proceeded to rip apart the suitcase and cutting out the lining of it. I cried some more. Worst of all there was no cell service, so I couldn’t call my mom for help. I ditched the suitcase and the cursed honey. Then let’s be real… I cried some more.

The next day we headed to Germany, which was my favorite country (maybe it’s the family history… I mean Besser does mean better in German). The sausages were huge and spicy and delicious *wink wink*. The beer mixed with lemonade made me feel like I was trying to belong - trust me I am far from fitting in at a bar scene ever. Plus the Karaoke bar was an unbelievable experience. I feel like that will be where meet my future husband at a Karaoke Bar because the long haired ponytailed man singing Mr.Roboto just made me believe in love.

The Czech Republic was beautiful and all the art was unbelievable. The John Lennon Wall was a great expression of peace and happiness. Plus the donut cone filled with ice cream made my life.

Berlin was unreal and the Berlin Wall was crazy beautiful. This city had so much to offer and I can’t wait to go back to go see more. The Art, the food, the culture, the people and so much more. I loved this country more than I could have ever imagined.

Belgium waffles are awesome and there are endless windmills in this country.

Amsterdam was LIT (lol I couldn’t resist). The canal cruise was great and it was nice to see the country from the water. But the countryside bike ride starting with me hitting a tree/car and the girl behind me flying straight into this little pond because she didn’t see me turn. I guess this was a bad time to follow my lead? To be honest, I wish I fell in the lake so I could have something to blog about.

Montpellier is a place I never want to travel to again. I think the brick wall I ran into the week before was more interesting than this place.

Paris was unbelievable and beautiful, I can’t wait to return. The Eiffel Tower was greater than I imagined it… I went three times. Plus, the Rihanna concert was crazy fun and I danced with gay men who work at EuroDisney! Literally dream friends with dream jobs. Sadly, I didn’t catch their names. Also, I ate snails.

Barcelona was the final stop. The art, the buildings, the culture were way more than anything I could have ever dreamed of. Then I paid 100 dollars for a floor ticket to see Beyonce. She was one of the greatest performers I have ever seen and my mouth was open the whole time with amazement (that’s what she said). It was bargain — totally would have spent more!

The trip ended with hard goodbyes but I made some great friends and I hope to visit them soon. Thank you Mom and Dad for always providing me with endless opportunities and going along with all my crazy ideas. If it wasn’t for the two of you, none of my dreams could be a reality.

Now, it’s time for me to study my butt off and get myself a Hospitality degree, so I can keep doing what I love — travel!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page