top of page

My First Time… Holding a Stranger’s Hand

Today, I held a random guy’s hand and I kinda liked it.

I always thought that I hated holding someone’s hand (due to the sweat and weird intermingling). But today in college level meditation, we were required to hold someone’s hand but I am getting ahead of myself.

I decided to take a meditation class because I thought I needed to find my inner zen or as my older sister always says for me to “calm the hell down”. So today I went and it was an experience. We laid on the floor and listened to meditation music for like 30 minutes (BEST WORK OUT CLASS EVER). Then the teacher told us a weird story about respecting ourselves and life. Then we had to get in a circle.

I thought it was going to be like the normal kindergarten level circle time but then we had to hold hands. At first, I looked at the people’s hands with disbelief that I was going to hold someone’s hand and I didn’t even know their first name. I had more fear of holding a hand than I do going to a country where no speaks the same language as me. But I did it, I held two different people’s hands and I thought that was it.

I was wrong.

Then the teacher had us close our eyes and grab for the people in front of us. He told us to be aggressive and try to understand how hard it would be to live with out sight. This was another interesting experience because we had to trust the people in the room. This class was all about trusting the unknown like Marlin had to when he was looking for Nemo.

I accepted today’s challenge and I am glad I am now able to hold strangers hands. Mom & Dad, are you proud yet?

The answer is no.

I called my dad to tell him about finding my inner zen and he said, “You have some real work to do there.” If I ever find my inner zen, I will let you know.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page