top of page

A Besser Girls Trip

Translation of Title (First Word is in German) - A "Better" Girls Trip

Ireland was full of laughs and tears plus some sisterly love thrown in there.

Before we ventured out to Ireland, we had three days together in London. After getting extremely lost (took me an hour and half…it was only supposed to take 20 minutes), I finally saw my family after a long time. Within 10 minutes, my sister was on the phone to a salon to fix my hair. She then proceeded to sing the “My Little Pony” theme song for the next couple of days. I went to the salon the next day for 6 hours to become a blonde and trust me it’s been nice. I have been turning heads left and right, now I get why blondes have more fun.

The flight to Ireland was a breeze. We went all over Southern Ireland and saw the countryside. The driver, that my mother hired, was a hoot and a half. He taught us Irish words (clean and naughty):

  • “A curse of the seven snotty orphans” = (I’m still confused on what this means)

  • “Good Craic” = good fun

  • A fairy bush = a home for the fairies

  • “She is a mutton dressed as a lamb” = someone who is too old to do something

  • “Mucksavage” = someone who eats bread in the car (me)/ country dweller

Fairy bushes are a huge deal in this country, they actually reconstructed the lay out for a highway so they wouldn’t knock down the fairy bush. Big Construction Workers who probably could knock you out with one punch would not build a highway because of a fairy bush. This is the reason I love this country.

Also, we learned about how race horses mate each other. They record each “covering” (sex) for proof that the horse sperminated the mare. This was the sex ed class that I didn’t know I needed.

My favorite part of the entire week were the Falconry lessons. If you don’t know I have a fear of all living things because I do not want my obituary to read “clawed to death by an owl”. After holding the different birds (owls, hawks, falcons), we went on a falconry walk to watch the falcons fly around. For the entire lesson, I was hoping that one of the birds would land on my sister’s head. But it didn’t. It landed on my head. His little claws were scratching my head and my fears were coming true. My obituary was to read: “Falcon clawed her brains out before her mother and sister could stop laughing”. Even though, I was scared out of my mind… I did make it out alive.

Ireland was a blast and I’m thankful I got to see my mom and sister for the past week. The next part won’t be the same without them constantly trying to set me up with every tour guide (even the one that threw poop on me on our hike who was the ripe age of 47).

The Highlights:

  • Bye Bye Rainbow Hair

  • Afternoon Tea in London, England

  • Multiple cocktail hours

  • Falconry Lessons

  • Hiked up the Burren

  • Cliffs of Mohr

  • Killarney

  • Lots of Shopping (Thanks for the 29047238 sweaters mom!)

  • Ring of Dingle

  • Market

  • A lot of Cathedrals

  • River dancing

  • Book of Kells and the Long Room (at Trinity College)

Here are the Review(s):

“I have never laughed more on one vacation!” - Mom

(It wasn’t because of me… #bitter)

Now I’m off on a month long backpacking journey to Greece, Italy, Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Belgium, France, and Spain! My next “plog” post won’t be until 2nd week of August! If you are curious about my adventures then follow me on instagram: @squawsurah !

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page