top of page

London Calling

The point of this blog post is for all the old people (especially my Bubbe) who won’t stop asking me about my trip. Enjoy!

I traveled all over London and Great Britain and let me tell you it was great! I saw the local culture (drunk old men and more smokers than I have ever wanted to see), multiple museums, the tourist traps (shout out to the London Eye — the most expensive 15 minutes of the trip), Castles, different cities, and classic must-sees (Stonehenge).

Each day I was gaining and losing Pounds (haha) from all the pub food I consumed. I ate food from little cute restaurants to nice fancy ones to literal crap shacks, but all in all the food was yummy. My suggestions include: Jen’s Cafe (homemade traditional Chinese dumplings), Love & Scandal (Hipster Paradise), and Borough Market (An “outdoor” market with multiple different stands selling honey, jam, homemade pasta, etc.).

The one weekend I got away I went to Scotland. I LOVE SCOTLAND! The beauty in nature and in culture was unreal. Plus, I met a new friend in a Scottish Pub and let me tell you...it was EXCITING! It was an unforgettable experience! I was eating dinner with one of my friends from school in a booth then an older gentleman (about 70-75 years old) came over and sat down. And I quote, "It is just a little loud in the bar, I'm just going to take a little nap". And he fell asleep at my table. My friend had no idea that the man was even at the table until our waiter asked the man to leave. This older gentleman just hit Prime Time.

My study abroad experience in London was one full of memories, from watching some girls *almost* get deported to spending multiple hours in the library a day. I *loved* the crowded museums and I learned a lot from experiential learning.

Thank you mom and dad for the chance to travel and learn (first of many thank yous this summer)! If it was not for your kind and generous selves, none of my dreams would be a reality. Anyone is lucky to know them, but I am the luckiest because I am a product of their love.

“GOD Sarah, why do you have to make everything so sexual?” - Mom

The Highlights

  • Museums (Imperial War Museum, Museum of London, National Maritime Museum, British Museum, Church Hill War Rooms)

  • Weekend Trip to Scotland (Doune Castle, the Highland Mountains, Loch Ness, and Forth Bridge)

  • Big Ben and the London Eye

  • M&M World (lol)

  • Windsor Castle

  • Edith Cavell memorial and Florence Nightingale memorial

  • Notting Hill, England

  • Greenwich, England

  • Chinatown, England

  • Oxford, England

  • Chelsea, England

  • Roman Baths and Stonehenge

  • Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre

  • King’s Cross Station - Platform 9 and 3/4

  • Borough Market

  • Some girls who almost got deported from Scotland #weekone

If you ever want to discuss further about my travels or anything at all, then please email me! I would love to give advice on studying abroad, traveling, or having clean fun!

Photographs from the first part of my adventure:

Now I’m off to Ireland! Can’t wait to see my mom and sissy soon!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page